I’m asking for your help

This is a tough post for me to write. Though this house operates on the kindness of others I’m still uneasy with actually asking for help. It’s also hard because this is my first/last/only chance and I need to somehow put my all into it without getting my hopes too high, because if it doesn’t work out I’ll be devastated.

I need surgery. I’m certain of it. I need it to be able to continue living my life – the longer I go without it the harder things get and the closer I am to dying. The public waitlist is 61 people long, currently not moving due to the lack of a surgeon in the country who can operate, and will be cleared in 40 years (plus however long it takes to hire a new surgeon). That’s longer than many of our lives, and at 20, knowing that if I magically jumped through all the hoops to even get on that waitlist tomorrow, I’d be dead well before finally getting it.

At most, I can save $80 per week, and that’s really pushing it. That’s with going to uni as absolutely little as possible, it’s with doing the bare minimum of self-care and food – and it’d take 6 years of that, with absolutely no unexpected bills or emergencies, to get the money I need.

So I’m asking for help. I want to keep doing what I do, to keep pushing and fighting for this community and to try make a tangible difference, but at this point I’m so dysphoric and exhausted it takes all my energy to even leave the house.

It’s still going to take a long time – the fundraising campaign I’ll link is set to run til 2020 – but hopefully it’ll take a lot less longer than 40 years.

So please, donate if you can and share this as much as you can – I’m relying on the kindness and generosity of others for this.

Here’s the link, and here’s a tumblr post about it to share there too.

Thank you.

3 thoughts on “I’m asking for your help

  1. Understand your need and wish you all the best. Keep standing up. We may differ on some points but in general I support you standing up and working for all.
    Good luck to you.
    Racheal

Leave a Reply

